12th Wheat UP CARICOM Day Cycling Classic… Geron Williams canters to exciting win on sun drenched day

Guyana’s lone Pro rider Geron Williams, a member of Champion System-Stan’s NoTubes rode a strategic race to win the feature 30-lap battle when the 12th annual Wheat Up CARICOM Day Cycling Classic sponsored by the National Milling Company of Guyana (NAMILCO) under the Wheat Up brand came off yesterday around the Sea Wall Bandstand.

Facing an experienced field, Williams staved off a spirited last gasp effort from Michael Anthony to cart off the top prize and trophy. It was sweet revenge for Williams who had to settle for the third place to Anthony the day before at the Baker’s Memorial Classic in Linden.

Williams also won three sprint prizes while Anthony took 2, they were followed to the line by Raul Leal, Akeem Wilkinson, Christopher Holder and Silvio Inniss. Holder pocketed 3 sprint prizes, Leal, Wilkinson and Paul De Nobrega 2 each with one to Inniss.

NAMILCO and RBC executives are seen with the winners and other recipients of prizes following yesterday’s presentation at the Seawall Bandstand.

The top six riders and De Nobrega established the early advantage from lap eight (8) and never looked back as they held a consistent lead of over 60 seconds on the second pack until the end of the contest.
Yesterday’s event saw 12 races being contested and was witnessed by NAMILCO’s Financial Controller, Mr. Fitzroy McLeod, Assistant to the Managing Director Mr. Autamaram Lakeram and Patron of Organising Club, Roraima Bikers Club, George Humphrey.

Williams warmed up for the big race by pedaling to victory in the Points Race where he accumulated 20 points to second place Greaves who managed 9 points, while De Nobrega took third place with one point less.

Apart from cash incentives to the top performers as listed below, the top six in the feature race also received trophies, while Wheat Up was also distributed to the cyclists compliments of NAMILCO.

Following are the full results of the day:

Event Laps Placing

BMX (10-14 years) 2 Jonathan Jagdeo, A. Hodge, Turan Garbarran
BMX (6-9 years) 2 Simon Chee, Jessica Mohabir, Alexander Leung
Females 2 Marica Dick, Whitney Poyer
Points Race 12 Geron Williams (20),Alanzo Greaves (9),
Paul De Nobrega (8)
Veterans Under-50 5 Warren Mc Kay, Stephen Fernandes, Jaikarran Sukhai
Veterans Over-50 5 Kennard Lovell, Linden Blackman, Kevin Jeffrey
12-14 years/juveniles 3 Keomo Logan, David Sampson, Brighton John
Juniors/Category 4 5 Raul Leal, Jamal John, Mario King
Categories 1-3 5 Geron Williams, Michael Anthony, Alanzo Greaves
Mountain Bikes (open) 5 Keon Thomas, Seon Budhan, Ozia Macullay
Win and Out (open) 8 Alanzo Greaves, Christopher Holder, Silvio Inniss
Wheat-Up Classic (open) 30 Geron Williams, Michael Anthony, Raul Leal, Akeem
Wilkinson, Christopher Holder, Silvio Inniss

Source: KNEWS by Franklin Wilson